Daily Devotional

  • Have Integrity in Your Heart — Sunday February 18, 2018

    SUNDAY February 18, 2018

    Have Integrity in Your Heart

    For if anyone sees you who have knowledge eating in an idol’s temple, will not the conscience of him who is weak be emboldened to eat those things offered to idols? And because of your knowledge shall the weak brother perish, for whom Christ died?

    1 Corinthians 8:10-11

    1 Corinthians 8 is a chapter that speaks about integrity. Paul stepped up to the plate and made a clear distinction; the Corinthian Christians should be different; they needed to be people of integrity. When it came to their liberties, they should consider who they might stumble when eating meat offered to idols. In fact, their influence would condemn a weaker Christian because he would not have the same liberty.

    For example, in the Old Testament, what was the vow of the Nazarite? A Nazarite was a person who would not cut their hair or drink wine. They were called to be separated to God; they acted differently from other people. They had a life of integrity. Samson, from birth, was called to be a Nazarite (Judges 13:5). However, Samson lacked integrity in his life; he compromised in so many areas. Finally, the harlot Delilah made such a fool out of him (Judges 16).

    Christians are called to be separated to God. Yet, so many Christians compromise, especially when it comes to drinking. If you go back and study wine in the Old Testament, they drank grape juice. When it became fermented, it would turn into real wine. The Bible teaches: Wine is a mocker, strong drink is a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise (Proverbs 20:1). I take the Bible literally––alcohol will cause you to act and look a fool. People who see you will be stumbled. You will lose your integrity and hinder them from following Christ.

    Character in the life of the Christian is very important. Integrity is not just a word; it is the quality of being honest and having strong moral and ethical principles. Are you known as a Christian with integrity?

    I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity.
    ~1 Chronicles 29:17 NIV~

  • Consider the Weak — Saturday February 17, 2018
  • Be Conscious of Stumbling Others — Friday February 16, 2018
  • Worship No Other Gods — Thursday February 15, 2018
  • Valentine's Day — Wednesday February 14, 2018
  • A God Centered Life — Tuesday February 13, 2018
  • Dealing with Idolatry — Monday February 12, 2018
  • Are You Compromising? — Sunday February 11, 2018
  • God's Model for Marriage — Saturday February 10, 2018
  • Godly Advice for Fathers — Friday February 9, 2018
  • Serve the Lord Without Distraction — Thursday February 8, 2018
  • Caring About the Things of God — Wednesday February 7, 2018
  • Do You Have Time to Serve God? — Tuesday February 6, 2018
  • Life is too Short, Live for Christ — Monday February 5, 2018
  • Doing God's Will in Marriage — Sunday February 4, 2018
  • Remain Pure — Saturday February 3, 2018
  • You are Bought at a Price — Friday February 2, 2018
  • Remain in the Same Calling — Thursday February 1, 2018
  • Keeping the Commandments Matters — Wednesday January 31, 2018
  • Walk in Contentment — Tuesday January 30, 2018
  • Be A Spiritual Influence — Monday January 29, 2018
  • God Hates Divorce — Sunday January 28, 2018
  • Testing the Lord — Saturday January 27, 2018
  • Willing to Stay Married — Thursday January 25, 2018
  • Be Faithful to Your Wife — Wednesday January 24, 2018
  • Keep Your Marriage Vows — Tuesday January 23, 2018