Daily Devotional

  • God's Calling Recognized — Tuesday October 16, 2018

    TUESDAY October 16, 2018

    God’s Calling Recognized

    And it came to pass at that time, while Eli was lying down in his place, and when his eyes had begun to grow so dim that he could not see, and before the lamp of God went out in the tabernacle of the LORD where the ark of God was, and while Samuel was lying down, that the LORD called Samuel…

    1 Samuel 3:2-4

    Eli was very old, a heavy man, and he could hardly see. As a father, he was weak; he had no power to discipline his sons. He also had no power with God. Therefore, Eli had lost his authority to do anything because of his compromised life. Eli was told by a man of God a prophecy that his generation would be cut off (I Samuel 2:23).

    God, in His sovereignty, raised up a new person––Samuel. He was going to do a brand new work through him. Samuel was in the tabernacle serving the Lord by taking care of sweeping and cleaning. In the mornings, he was the one who opened the doors of the house of the Lord (1 Samuel 3:15).

    Samuel went to sleep, and all of a sudden, God called to Samuel while he was still sleeping. Samuel was only a young boy, and he did not yet know the Lord personally. He did not understand what was going on, or what God had planned for his life. God came to him that night because he had placed a call on his life. The Lord would call to Samuel four different times!

    How many times has God called you? It may not be once or twice; He may call to you four times or more! Why? I believe God will call to you until you recognize who God is.

    How delightful are God’s ways and the going forth of His will. Not by might nor by power, neither by native ability nor by training are men made apostles, but by God’s effectual calling.
    ~A.W. Tozer~

  • A Submitted Life — Monday October 15, 2018
  • Priestly Duties — Sunday October 14, 2018
  • Faithful Priest — Saturday October 13, 2018
  • Divine Judgment — Friday October 12, 2018
  • The Goodness of God — Thursday October 11, 2018
  • Honor God of Despise Him? — Wednesday October 10, 2018
  • Sin In God's Dwelling Place — Tuesday October 9, 2018
  • Offerings Made By Fire — Monday October 8, 2018
  • Discipline Your Children — Sunday October 7, 2018
  • Growing in the Lord — Saturday October 6, 2018
  • God's Judgement — Friday October 5, 2018
  • Lack of Spiritual Leadership — Thursday October 4, 2018
  • Blessings of Godly Heritage — Wednesday October 3, 2018
  • Blessings of a Godly Mother — Tuesday October 2, 2018
  • Hirelings — Monday October 1, 2018
  • Set The Standard — Sunday September 30, 2018
  • Priestly Duties — Saturday September 29, 2018
  • Do You Know God? — Friday September 28, 2018
  • Ministering Before the Lord — Thursday September 27, 2018
  • God Protects Our Paths — Wednesday September 26, 2018
  • God's Supremacy — Tuesday September 25, 2018
  • God's Sovereignty — Monday September 24, 2018
  • Guard Against Pride — Sunday September 23, 2018
  • Is God Your Rock? — Saturday September 22, 2018
  • A Heart of Rejoicing — Friday September 21, 2018