Daily Devotional

  • Freed From Sin — Saturday July 11, 2020

    SATURDAY July 11, 2020

    Freed From Sin

    For he who has died has been freed from sin. Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him, knowing that Christ, having been raised from the dead, dies no more. Death no longer has dominion over Him. For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God.

    Romans 6:7-10

    Those who have been born again by the Holy Spirit have a new life in Christ. Christians have been set free from sin. Literally, they have been justified by Jesus Christ or declared righteous by God. Paul repeatedly related the symbolism found in baptism to show how believers have died with Christ––died to their old sinful nature. Remember, baptism does not save anyone. It represents dying to self and dying to sin.

    Many times babies are baptized; the priest sprinkles them with water on their foreheads and declares, “Now this child has been born again; they are a Christian, and they have eternal life.” However, the Bible does not teach this. When a person knows right from wrong, and they repent of their sins they become born again, and truly become a child of God (John 3).

    So when a believer in Christ is baptized, they are first placed under the water. Going under the water represents being buried with Christ. Believers identify with Jesus, His death and the grave. Then as they come out of the water, they identify with Christ’s resurrection and the newness of life. What a privilege we have to walk in the Spirit in a new life, and then to also have the promise of heaven when we die!

    Seriously, we were all born in sin, and sin has destroyed our lives. Now as Christians, we can have victory over sin. When temptation comes, God will give us the Holy Spirit to help teach us and convict us. As believers submit their lives to Christ, they will have victory over sin!

    We are not to be alarmed when Satan hinders us, for it is proof that we are on the Lord’s side and are doing the Lord’s work. In His strength, we will win the victory and triumph over our adversary.
    ~C.H. Spurgeon~

  • No Longer Slaves of Sin — Friday July 10, 2020
  • Walk in Newness of Life — Thursday July 9, 2020
  • Dead to Sin — Wednesday July 8, 2020
  • God’s Grace Reigns — Tuesday July 7, 2020
  • Justification of Life — Monday July 6, 2020
  • Having Access to God — Sunday July 5, 2020
  • Independence Day — Saturday July 4, 2020
  • Hope in God’s Promises — Friday July 3, 2020
  • Death Has Spread to All Men — Thursday July 2, 2020
  • Saved From Wrath — Wednesday July 1, 2020
  • Christ Died for Sinners! — Tuesday June 30, 2020
  • Glory in Tribulations - Monday June 29, 2020 — Monday June 29, 2020
  • Peace Through God - Sunday June 28, 2020 — Sunday June 28, 2020
  • Accounted as Righteous — Saturday June 27, 2020
  • Hope in God’s Promises — Friday June 26, 2020
  • Father of Many Nations — Thursday June 25, 2020
  • According to Grace — Wednesday June 24, 2020
  • Faith Made Void — Tuesday June 23, 2020
  • Walking in Steps of Faith — Monday June 22, 2020
  • Father’s Day — Sunday June 21, 2020
  • Accounted as Righteous — Saturday June 20, 2020
  • Faith in Jesus Christ — Friday June 19, 2020
  • Guilty Before God — Thursday June 18, 2020
  • Accounted for Righteousness — Wednesday June 17, 2020
  • God Justifies — Tuesday June 16, 2020