Daily Devotional

  • — Friday September 4, 2015

    Build Up & Encourage

    “From the blood of the slain, from the fat of the mighty, the bow of Jonathan did not turn back, and the sword of Saul did not return empty. Saul and Jonathan were beloved and pleasant in their lives, and in their death they were not divided; they were swifter than eagles, they were stronger than lions.”

    2 Samuel 1:22-23

    David was building up Saul and Jonathan, not tearing them down. He wrote of their great feats on the battlefield. He said they were faster than eagles and stronger than lions. They were mighty men of war. They fought side by side in defense of Israel. As they fought side by side, they also died side by side, father and son.

    While there were so many things David could have said negatively about Saul, he would not do it. He honored the king of Israel as a great warrior and defender of the people. He did not want him to be remembered for his failures but for his victories.

    Listen, people are always tearing down others instead of building up. It is easier to look at the failures of people instead of their victories. Think of how many people within the body of Christ are tearing people down, at home, at work and at church. They are talking behind people’s backs and yet they call themselves Christians.

    We have to be very careful. God calls us to lift one another up in prayer, to hold one another’s hands up in times of trials and distress. He never calls us to tear down. That is the work of the enemy. If you are tearing people down instead of building them up, you are working for the enemy.

    Never report what may hurt another unless it be
    a greater hurt to conceal it.
    ~William Penn~

  • Consequences of Sin Unchecked — Thursday September 3, 2015
  • Love Not Bitterness — Wednesday September 2, 2015
  • Broken & Contrite Hearts — Tuesday September 1, 2015
  • Seek the Treasures of Heaven — Monday August 31, 2015
  • Love in Our Hearts — Sunday August 30, 2015
  • Eternal Separation from God — Saturday August 29, 2015
  • Wrong Motives — Friday August 28, 2015
  • Departure of the Holy Spirit — Thursday August 27, 2015
  • See the Signs — Wednesday August 26, 2015
  • Sin: Your Worst Enemy — Tuesday August 25, 2015
  • Remembered in Death — Monday August 24, 2015
  • True Christian — Sunday August 23, 2015
  • Who Do You Follow? — Saturday August 22, 2015
  • Defeat & Death — Friday August 21, 2015
  • Ready to Meet the Lord — Thursday August 20, 2015
  • Sin Costs — Wednesday August 19, 2015
  • God’s Perfect Will & Wisdom — Tuesday August 18, 2015
  • Repentance & Forgiveness — Monday August 17, 2015
  • Impact the World — Sunday August 16, 2015
  • Greed & Pride — Saturday August 15, 2015
  • Called By God — Friday August 14, 2015
  • Promises & Blessings — Thursday August 13, 2015
  • Faith & Obedience — Wednesday August 12, 2015
  • Possibilities & Opportunities — Tuesday August 11, 2015
  • God’s Plan & Purpose — Monday August 10, 2015