Daily Devotional

  • Undertaking the Work of God — Saturday February 25, 2017

    SATURDAY February 25, 2017

    Undertaking the Work of God

    “The wall of Jerusalem is also broken down, and its gates are burned with fire.”

    Nehemiah 1:3

    Imagine, in starting the work of God, Nehemiah took on a big undertaking. He would have to count the cost of being a leader. After he had heard Jerusalem was broken down, and its gates were burned with fire, he was willing to lead the people––they could not grow spiritually on their own. God had chosen Nehemiah, just as He had chosen other leaders in Israel’s past history, men such as––Jeremiah and Isaiah.

    When God chooses leaders it is not so they can “Lord” over the people. A leader’s main objective is to guide others to the cross. This is where they will learn to grow and mature. Ministry can be very tiresome––every single day, you have to study, teach and sometimes travel. When the weather is beautiful and there is an opportunity to go to the beach often you have to deny yourself to study. In ministry you have to count the cost––that is the heart of a shepherd, even though exhausting––I love it.

    When people come in for counseling there is a major problem. It soon becomes obvious that their house––the walls of their spiritual life are broken down. Why? They do not read their Bibles, pray or fellowship with other Christians. It does not matter what the sin issues are because their situations can all boil down to those three areas of their spiritual life.

    If you are in church, listening to God’s Word and fellowshipping with other believers then you will remain, accountable. The Word of God will convict you of sin and as you pray your life is realigned with the Lord. If you are not doing those three important things, then what has replaced them? Who are you now fellowshipping with? Are those friendships pulling you away from Christ? Or are they leading you to the power of the cross––that is important. In rebuilding the walls of your life––God has to be first.

    The cross is the resting place for sin, the tomb for self
    and the throne for our fears.
    ~Harold St. John~

  • The Call of God — Friday February 24, 2017
  • Got Vision? — Thursday February 23, 2017
  • George Washington’s Birthday — Wednesday February 22, 2017
  • In the City of Our God — Tuesday February 21, 2017
  • Survivors in Great Distress — Monday February 20, 2017
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events — Sunday February 19, 2017
  • A Sincere Inquiry — Saturday February 18, 2017
  • Are You Getting Involved? — Friday February 17, 2017
  • Let us Build the Wall — Thursday February 16, 2017
  • The Cost of Living — Wednesday February 15, 2017
  • Valentine’s Day — Tuesday February 14, 2017
  • Gone With the Wind — Monday February 13, 2017
  • Lincoln’s Birthday — Sunday February 12, 2017
  • The Peace of God — Saturday February 11, 2017
  • A Repetitive Rebuke — Friday February 10, 2017
  • Consider Your Ways! — Thursday February 9, 2017
  • Sending a Wake-up Call — Wednesday February 8, 2017
  • Called to Worship God — Tuesday February 7, 2017
  • A Rebuke to Carnal People — Monday February 6, 2017
  • Are You A Team Player? — Sunday February 5, 2017
  • Aligned with God’s Purposes — Saturday February 4, 2017
  • A Man with Priorities — Friday February 3, 2017
  • Ready for the Rapture? — Thursday February 2, 2017
  • Compassion Brings Revival — Wednesday February 1, 2017
  • The Lord of History — Tuesday January 31, 2017