Daily Devotional

  • A Sworn Oath — Wednesday May 25, 2016

    A Sworn Oath

    But Ittai answered the king and said, “As the LORD lives, and as my lord the king lives, surely in whatever place my lord the king shall be, whether in death or life, even there also your servant will be.”

    2 Samuel 15:21

    Ittai was an honorable man, his heart was loyal and his actions would prove his commitment. He had uttered a sworn oath to be by the king’s side in life and in death. He was giving up his own life to serve the king in complete abandonment.
    Peter was an out spoken disciple of Jesus Christ. As threats came against Christ from the Jewish religious leaders, it became more dangerous to be known as a disciple. When Jesus spoke of His death, Peter boldly spoke of his undying loyalty to Him and said: “Even if I have to die with You, I will not deny You!” We often forget, but the other disciples also agreed with what Peter had said––and so said all the disciples (Matthew 26:35).
    When those brave words were tested, they all failed. When Christ was arrested they all ran away: Then all the disciples forsook Him and fled (Matthew 26:56). They were all scattered like frightened sheep. Peter was convicted over his denial but later, when empowered by the Holy Spirit, he glorified the Lord not only through His life when he boldly preached the Gospel (Acts 2:14-42), but also by His death (John 21:18-19).
    Jesus is our King. As Christians we owe Him our allegiance. As we give our lives to Him, we are to serve Him in life and even in death. We are to follow Him in selfless abandonment (Romans 12:1-2).
    Are you spiritually prepared to serve Christ in life and in death?
    Nothing proves a man's attachment to a thing so surely
    as his readiness to die for it.
    ~John H. Gerstner~

  • Facing an Unknown Future — Tuesday May 24, 2016
  • Choosing Your Company — Monday May 23, 2016
  • Passing before the King — Sunday May 22, 2016
  • Keepers of the Home — Saturday May 21, 2016
  • The King’s Servants — Friday May 20, 2016
  • Time to Escape — Thursday May 19, 2016
  • Treason — Wednesday May 18, 2016
  • Conspiracy — Tuesday May 17, 2016
  • Caught Unaware — Monday May 16, 2016
  • Espionage — Sunday May 15, 2016
  • Go in Peace — Saturday May 14, 2016
  • Deviousness — Friday May 13, 2016
  • Stolen Hearts — Thursday May 12, 2016
  • Seeking Prominence — Wednesday May 11, 2016
  • Interception — Tuesday May 10, 2016
  • Self-Importance — Monday May 9, 2016
  • Mother’s Day — Sunday May 8, 2016
  • A Long Awaited Reunion — Saturday May 7, 2016
  • For Better or Worse — Friday May 6, 2016
  • National Day of Prayer — Thursday May 5, 2016
  • Setting a Fire — Wednesday May 4, 2016
  • Feeling Ostracized? — Tuesday May 3, 2016
  • Beautiful in Appearance — Monday May 2, 2016
  • Mirrored Reflections — Sunday May 1, 2016
  • Seeing the King’s Face — Saturday April 30, 2016