Daily Devotional

  • Seek the Treasures of Heaven — Monday August 31, 2015

    Seek the Treasures of Heaven

    Then David said to the young man who told him, “Where are you from?” And he answered, “I am the son of an alien, an Amalekite.” So David said to him, “How was it you were not afraid to put forth your hand to destroy the Lord’s anointed?” Then David called one of the young men and said, “Go near, and execute him!” And he struck him so that he died.

    2 Samuel 1:13-15

    This young man was standing before David and his men and he saw them tear their clothes, mourn and fast for Saul, Jonathan and the nation of Israel. I think he was surprised by David’s reaction. I think he went to David with the news of Israel and Saul believing David would be so happy, he would be rewarded.

    He did not get the reaction he expected. Instead, he ended up giving David terrible news about Israel, revealing he was an enemy of Israel and David, and he had no fear of the Lord. He had ended Saul’s life. David did not reward him; he executed him for his part in taking Saul’s life.

    Again, we have to look at the motive of the heart. The Amalekite went to David thinking he would be rewarded for his actions, but his actions were not good, they were evil. He expected a reward for coming against the Lord’s anointed; something David would not do, even when the Lord delivered him into his hand.

    It is so important to always seek to please God and not man. We should not seek rewards from man but the love, grace and mercy of God. The things of this world will pass away, but the things of God are eternal.

    No kind of riches is a passport to the kingdom of heaven.
    ~C. S. Lewis~

  • Love in Our Hearts — Sunday August 30, 2015
  • Eternal Separation from God — Saturday August 29, 2015
  • Wrong Motives — Friday August 28, 2015
  • Departure of the Holy Spirit — Thursday August 27, 2015
  • See the Signs — Wednesday August 26, 2015
  • Sin: Your Worst Enemy — Tuesday August 25, 2015
  • Remembered in Death — Monday August 24, 2015
  • True Christian — Sunday August 23, 2015
  • Who Do You Follow? — Saturday August 22, 2015
  • Defeat & Death — Friday August 21, 2015
  • Ready to Meet the Lord — Thursday August 20, 2015
  • Sin Costs — Wednesday August 19, 2015
  • God’s Perfect Will & Wisdom — Tuesday August 18, 2015
  • Repentance & Forgiveness — Monday August 17, 2015
  • Impact the World — Sunday August 16, 2015
  • Greed & Pride — Saturday August 15, 2015
  • Called By God — Friday August 14, 2015
  • Promises & Blessings — Thursday August 13, 2015
  • Faith & Obedience — Wednesday August 12, 2015
  • Possibilities & Opportunities — Tuesday August 11, 2015
  • God’s Plan & Purpose — Monday August 10, 2015
  • God’s Faithful Promises — Sunday August 9, 2015
  • The Kindness of a Stranger — Saturday August 8, 2015
  • Wisdom for Leadership — Friday August 7, 2015
  • Forgiveness & Promises — Thursday August 6, 2015