Daily Devotional

  • Heavy Burdens — Wednesday May 24, 2017

    WEDNESDAY May 24, 2017

    Heavy Burdens

    And at my table were one hundred and fifty Jews and rulers, besides those who came to us from the nations around us. Now that which was prepared daily was one ox and six choice sheep. Also fowl were prepared for me, and once every ten days an abundance of all kinds of wine. Yet in spite of this I did not demand the governor’s provisions, because the bondage was heavy on this people.

    Nehemiah 5:17-18

    Notice how Nehemiah constantly gave of himself to the people from his own wealth. The people and even their leaders were his whole focus. He was especially sensitive to the people because he knew of their heavy burdens. He was selfless. He cared about the people and not himself––he was a true leader.

    Jesus invited burdened people to come to Him. He wanted to give rest to those who were heavy laden. Those without Christ are found in bondage to the heavy burden of sin. Jesus invited them to come to Him:

    “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

    Often we have made a mess of our lives but we can rest in the work of Jesus Christ on the cross. He has secured our salvation and our sins have been erased (Isaiah 43:25). As we get to know Christ and understand His will and plan for our lives we shall become less burdened. We can rest in Him and find peace with God––fully and completely.

    What are you weighted down with? Do you feel you have the weight of sin and the pressures of the world on your shoulders? Perhaps you have the burden of a guilty conscience? Whatever your burdens may be come to Jesus and He will take care of the problem.

    “I have come that they may have life,
    and that they may have it more abundantly.”
    ~John 10:10~

  • Continue God’s Work — Tuesday May 23, 2017
  • Having the Fear of God — Monday May 22, 2017
  • Shaken Out — Sunday May 21, 2017
  • Keeping Your Promises — Saturday May 20, 2017
  • Required Restoration — Friday May 19, 2017
  • Walking in the Fear of God — Thursday May 18, 2017
  • An Authoritative Rebuke — Wednesday May 17, 2017
  • Charging Unfair Interest — Tuesday May 16, 2017
  • Great Injustices — Monday May 15, 2017
  • Mother’s Day — Sunday May 14, 2017
  • Power to Redeem — Saturday May 13, 2017
  • The Rich and Poor Alike — Friday May 12, 2017
  • The Debt Difficulty — Thursday May 11, 2017
  • The Art of Solving Problems — Wednesday May 10, 2017
  • The Bare Necessities — Tuesday May 9, 2017
  • Laboring in the Work Together — Monday May 8, 2017
  • Rally the People — Sunday May 7, 2017
  • Excellent Management — Saturday May 6, 2017
  • The Power of Strategy — Friday May 5, 2017
  • National Day of Prayer — Thursday May 4, 2017
  • Remember the Lord — Wednesday May 3, 2017
  • Families that Fight the Enemy! — Tuesday May 2, 2017
  • The Enemy in the Midst — Monday May 1, 2017
  • Failing Strength — Sunday April 30, 2017
  • Watch and Pray — Saturday April 29, 2017