Daily Devotional

  • Getting off the Sinful Cycle — Thursday January 19, 2017

    THURSDAY January 19, 2017

    Getting off the Sinful Cycle

    Then the children of Israel did evil in the sight of the LORD, and served the Baals; and they forsook the LORD God of their fathers…

    Judges 2:11

    Moses recounts Israel’s history, but then within Deuteronomy 28-30, especially in Deuteronomy 28:1-14, Moses presented to Israel the possible blessings of God through obedience and the cursing, as a result of their disobedience. In the book of Judges, we find that the people of Israel were going around in a sinful cycle, as if on a roller coaster ride. Judges 21:2 tells us their mindset: …everyone did what was right in his own eyes. This is the philosophy of the book of Judges.

    Yet, God in His faithfulness gave them judges, who led them spiritually and delivered them from their enemies. But when any judge died, Israel fell back into the same repetitive sinful cycle. They stubbornly continued to choose to live sinful lives with no real spiritual change. Judgment came from the Lord because of Israel’s spiritual apostasy and from a lack of obedience.

    As we look around our world today we can see a parallel––we see a generation who does not honor God or man. Man without God desires to govern himself, be in control and have his own way. We have a generation who refuses to worship God, willfully rebels, disobeys and has no respect for life. Why? Our children and young adults do not know God’s Word. Parents have failed to teach them God’s principles and morals. Most children do not even know God’s Ten Commandments (Exodus 20:3-17). Seriously, there is no fear of God today!

    Sadly, today’s generation is not experiencing God’s blessings; they are trapped in a terrible cycle of sin, suffering the consequences. What about yourself? Do you need to repent from a life of disobedience? Ask the Lord to help you break your sinful cycle so you can enjoy God’s blessings.

    If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.
    ~John 13:7~

  • People of Apostasy — Wednesday January 18, 2017
  • Complete Biblical Doctrine — Tuesday January 17, 2017
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day — Monday January 16, 2017
  • The Bloodline of Redemption — Sunday January 15, 2017
  • A People Chosen to Worship — Saturday January 14, 2017
  • Suffering Consequences? — Friday January 13, 2017
  • Jerusalem, Sin City — Thursday January 12, 2017
  • Shedding Tears — Wednesday January 11, 2017
  • Do You Give a Care? — Tuesday January 10, 2017
  • The Character of a Godly Man — Monday January 9, 2017
  • Facing the Realities of Ministry — Sunday January 8, 2017
  • Broken Down Walls — Saturday January 7, 2017
  • A Leader’s Integrity — Friday January 6, 2017
  • Receiving Mercy to Rebuild — Thursday January 5, 2017
  • Called to Intercede — Wednesday January 4, 2017
  • Nehemiah Introduction — Tuesday January 3, 2017
  • The Book of Nehemiah — Monday January 2, 2017
  • New Year’s Day — Sunday January 1, 2017
  • New Year’s Eve — Saturday December 31, 2016
  • God’s Guidance — Friday December 30, 2016
  • Refusing Comfort — Thursday December 29, 2016
  • Come to Worship Christ? — Wednesday December 28, 2016
  • Those Who Look for Redemption — Tuesday December 27, 2016
  • Consolation of Israel — Monday December 26, 2016
  • Finding Christ in Christmas — Sunday December 25, 2016