Daily Devotional

  • Displeasing the Lord — Saturday February 13, 2016

    Displeasing the Lord

    When the wife of Uriah heard that Uriah her husband was dead, she mourned for her husband. And when her mourning was over, David sent and brought her to his house, and she became his wife and bore him a son. But the thing that David had done displeased the LORD.

    2 Samuel 11:26-27

    David wasted no time in bringing Bathsheba into his home, she went from mourning to a new marriage; and then in time, gave birth to David’s son. However, David’s actions had displeased the Lord. Ironically, David had said in his encouragement to Joab after the death of Uriah: ‘Do not let the thing displease you’ (2 Samuel 11:25).
    Yet, he did not take into account how his Lord felt about his cold, calculated and sinful behavior. God was displeased with David, as a father would be towards a disobedient son. The fellowship was broken between them and repentance would be the only possible way to restore an intimate relationship with God.
    We are not pleasing to God when we walk according to our flesh. Romans 8:8 explains: So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God. If we desire to please our God and have our prayers answered, then we need to walk in absolute obedience to His Word. First John 3:22 teaches us: And whatever we ask we receive from Him, because we keep His commandments and do those things that are pleasing in His sight.
    So here is what it comes down to: the ultimate choice in life is between pleasing ourselves and pleasing God.
    ~ Greg Laurie~

  • Lincoln’s Birthday — Friday February 12, 2016
  • Nonchalant Hypocrisy — Thursday February 11, 2016
  • Mission Accomplished — Wednesday February 10, 2016
  • A Message of Appeasement — Tuesday February 9, 2016
  • Shedding Innocent Blood — Monday February 8, 2016
  • Murderous Plans — Sunday February 7, 2016
  • If at First You don’t Succeed — Saturday February 6, 2016
  • One Honorable Man — Friday February 5, 2016
  • When God Frustrates Your Plans — Thursday February 4, 2016
  • Covering Your Sin — Wednesday February 3, 2016
  • Your Sin Will Find You Out — Tuesday February 2, 2016
  • You Shall Not Commit Adultery — Monday February 1, 2016
  • The Lust of the Eyes — Sunday January 31, 2016
  • Idleness is the Devil’s Playground — Saturday January 30, 2016
  • Let us Make Peace — Friday January 29, 2016
  • The Battlefield of War — Thursday January 28, 2016
  • When the Enemy Returns — Wednesday January 27, 2016
  • Making the Enemy Flee — Tuesday January 26, 2016
  • Fighting the Adversary Together — Monday January 25, 2016
  • Invest in the Best — Sunday January 24, 2016
  • David’s Mighty Men — Saturday January 23, 2016
  • Prepared for War — Friday January 22, 2016
  • Greatly Ashamed — Thursday January 21, 2016
  • Bad Counsel — Wednesday January 20, 2016
  • Words of Comfort — Tuesday January 19, 2016