Daily Devotional

  • Getting Our Lives Back in Order — Sunday August 20, 2017

    SUNDAY August 20, 2017

    Getting Our Lives Back in Order

    So it was, when they had heard the Law, that they separated all the mixed multitude from Israel… And it grieved me [Nehemiah] bitterly; therefore I threw all the household goods of Tobiah out of the room. Then I commanded them to cleanse the rooms; and I brought back into them the articles of the house of God, with the grain offering and the frankincense.

    Nehemiah 13:3, 8-9

    In response to hearing the Law, God’s people began to separate themselves from the other nations. Nehemiah, after returning from Persia, had found out that Eliashib the priest had allowed Tobiah to live in the house of God (Nehemiah 13:4-7). The people had compromised and allowed a little leaven––a type of sin, to enter the camp.

    Imagine, Nehemiah had gone away for a short while (we do not know how long exactly), but the people had already returned back to their old ways. Nehemiah became a little upset and threw everything that belonged to Tobiah outside he cleansed the house of the Lord. Can you believe that? I like Nehemiah; he did not mess around!

    Moses had a similar situation with the children of Israel in the wilderness. He went up to Mount Sinai (Exodus 24:12-15) to receive the Ten Commandments. He was gone for 40 days and 40 nights (verse 18). In Moses’ absence the people convinced Aaron, Moses’ brother, to make a golden calf and worship it (Exodus 32:1-5). God’s people had committed great acts of sexual perversion. God’s judgment had to come upon them.

    Why do God’s people not learn their lesson? Believers can make a great commitment to God and promise to obey His Word. He blessed them, but then they begin to disobey. Do you not understand our bodies are the temple of God? We need to live holy lives (1 Corinthians 3:16-17). Those who are backslidden need to come back to the Lord, as He is the One who cleanses our lives.

    Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.
    ~Psalm 51:10 KJV~

  • Amazing Grace — Saturday August 19, 2017
  • Consecration — Friday August 18, 2017
  • Walking in Obedience — Thursday August 17, 2017
  • Celebration and Dedication — Wednesday August 16, 2017
  • Are You Ready to Follow the Lord? — Tuesday August 15, 2017
  • Repentance is the Fruit of Revival — Monday August 14, 2017
  • Consider Your Residence — Sunday August 13, 2017
  • Wisdom from God — Saturday August 12, 2017
  • A Willing Sacrifice of Yourself — Friday August 11, 2017
  • Never Neglect God's House — Thursday August 10, 2017
  • Receiving Tithes — Wednesday August 9, 2017
  • Offerings Filling Storerooms — Tuesday August 8, 2017
  • Bring God Your First Fruits — Monday August 7, 2017
  • The Altar of Our God — Sunday August 6, 2017
  • The House of God — Saturday August 5, 2017
  • Walking with God — Wednesday August 2, 2017
  • Adding Your Name to the List — Tuesday August 1, 2017
  • He Knows My Name — Monday July 31, 2017
  • Heads or Tails? — Friday July 28, 2017
  • Failure to Serve the Lord! — Thursday July 27, 2017
  • The Just Judge — Wednesday July 26, 2017
  • Our Awesome God — Tuesday July 25, 2017
  • Great Mercy — Monday July 24, 2017
  • God’s Patience with People — Sunday July 23, 2017
  • A Failure to Hear — Saturday July 22, 2017