Daily Devotional

  • Belief in God — Monday August 3, 2015

    Belief in God

    So David and his men came to the city, and there it was, burned with fire; and their wives, their sons, and their daughters had been taken captive. Then David and the people who were with him lifted up their voices and wept, until they had no more power to weep.

    1 Samuel 30:3-4

    The Amalekites had come and taken the women, the wives of David’s men, their children and all their possessions. The Amalekites cleaned out everything! They destroyed everything, because that is what the flesh does; it destroys everything.

    You have to remember, the Amalekites are always a type of the flesh. If Saul would have done what God told him to do in the past, and killed the Amalekites, they would have never had this problem.

    When David and his men saw what happened, they lifted their voices and cried. They mourned greatly for the loss of their families and possessions. They loved their families.

    I believe they cried and mourned the loss of their families, because they felt guilty. Instead of being there with their families, they had joined the Philistines to go to war against Israel, their own people. They may have believed this was punishment for going against God’s people.

    It is important to recognize the heart of people. Even those who say they do not believe in God, in their hearts, they know He is real. These people had walked away from the Lord, but they knew He was there. God is not less real because people say they do not believe in Him.

    Was every man on earth to become an atheist, it could not affect God in any way.
    ~A.W. Tozer~

  • God’s Great Mercy — Sunday August 2, 2015
  • The Amalekites Kill — Saturday August 1, 2015
  • Submit to His Will — Friday July 31, 2015
  • God’s Great Mercy — Thursday July 30, 2015
  • Reproach to the Lord — Wednesday July 29, 2015
  • Led By God — Tuesday July 28, 2015
  • Godly Counsel — Monday July 27, 2015
  • Discernment & Wisdom — Sunday July 26, 2015
  • Walk Faithfully With God — Saturday July 25, 2015
  • Conviction Not Comfort — Friday July 24, 2015
  • Embrace His Will — Thursday July 23, 2015
  • Follow God First — Wednesday July 22, 2015
  • God’s Plans Greater — Tuesday July 21, 2015
  • Choose: Sin or Repentance — Monday July 20, 2015
  • Eternity—Choose Wisely — Sunday July 19, 2015
  • No God—No Wisdom — Saturday July 18, 2015
  • Idolatry — Friday July 17, 2015
  • Obedience—First and Last — Thursday July 16, 2015
  • Swear to God — Wednesday July 15, 2015
  • Turn Back — Monday July 13, 2015
  • Broken Communion — Sunday July 12, 2015
  • Faith Over Fear — Saturday July 11, 2015
  • Play With the Devil — Friday July 10, 2015
  • Callused to the Truth — Thursday July 9, 2015
  • Consequences of Lying — Wednesday July 8, 2015