Daily Devotional

  • Obedience — Monday June 26, 2017

    MONDAY June 26, 2017

    Obedience

    Then the people went out and brought them and made themselves booths, each one on the roof of his house, or in their courtyards or the courts of the house of God, and in the open square of the Water Gate and in the open square of the Gate of Ephraim

    Nehemiah 8:16

    In obedience, the people had gathered all kinds of tree branches to make for themselves booths––temporary homes. God’s people obediently followed what God had said in His Word. During the Feast of Tabernacles, they would live in these booths seven days. Understand that pretending to be in these outside booths, became a perfect opportunity for the parents to teach their children about the Lord.

    God wanted the parents to pass on to their children the knowledge of the Lord, how He had led them out of Egypt. As they traveled through the wilderness, God had provided for them before they went into the Promised Land. The parents would have spoken to their children and said, “Let me tell you the story concerning Egypt, Moses and our journey through the wilderness.”

    In any family, one of the most important things to do is to pass on the wonderful stories of the Bible to their children, and grandchildren. Psalm 78:4 is a reminder of how we should teach our children about the Lord:

    We will not hide them from their children, telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, and His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

    Do you make it a daily practice to retell the stories of the Bible to your children? What about sharing with them the wonderful works God has done in your own families’ lives?

    Tell your children about it, let your children tell their children, and their children another generation.
    ~Joel 1-3~

  • Remembrance — Sunday June 25, 2017
  • Head of the Home — Saturday June 24, 2017
  • Understanding the Scriptures — Friday June 23, 2017
  • Be Still My Soul — Thursday June 22, 2017
  • The Joy of the Lord is Your Strength — Wednesday June 21, 2017
  • Mourning and Weeping — Tuesday June 20, 2017
  • Making Sense of Scripture — Monday June 19, 2017
  • Bow Down and Worship — Sunday June 18, 2017
  • Our Great God — Saturday June 17, 2017
  • A Word to the Privileged — Friday June 16, 2017
  • Be Attentive to the Scriptures — Thursday June 15, 2017
  • Hearing with Understanding — Wednesday June 14, 2017
  • The Value of God’s Word — Tuesday June 13, 2017
  • Disloyalty and Division — Monday June 12, 2017
  • Family Connections — Sunday June 11, 2017
  • A Finished Work — Saturday June 10, 2017
  • Divine Retribution — Friday June 9, 2017
  • Character Assassination — Thursday June 8, 2017
  • Showing No Cowardice — Wednesday June 7, 2017
  • Espionage — Tuesday June 6, 2017
  • Strengthen Our Hands - Monday June 5, 2017 — Monday June 5, 2017
  • Engaged in a Deadly Battle — Sunday June 4, 2017
  • Fully Committed — Saturday June 3, 2017
  • The Snare of Fear — Friday June 2, 2017
  • Inventors of Evil — Thursday June 1, 2017