Daily Devotional

  • Strength to the Weary — Friday October 18, 2019

    FRIDAY October 18, 2019

    Strength to the Weary

    So David went, he and the six hundred men who were with him, and came to the Brook Besor, where those stayed who were left behind. But David pursued, he and four hundred men; for two hundred stayed behind, who were so weary that they could not cross the Brook Besor.

    1 Samuel 30:9-10

    David’s men of war were willingly to go with him into battle against the Amalekites to rescue their loved ones who were held captive. I love David’s courage. David had encouraged himself in the Lord and trusted his men not to revolt against him. The Lord told David he would be successful and everyone would return safely.

    Yet in hot pursuit, some of David’s men had grown very weary. Just plain tired out, two hundred stayed at the Brook Besor, while the other four hundred who had strength, continued to pursue the enemy. The Brook Besor was a brook flowing into the Mediterranean, five miles south of Gaza. The name Besor in the Hebrew languages means, “glad news or cheerful.” How glad they would be when their families returned to them!

    In the spiritual battles of ministry, there are those who will need to rest––they get tired in the work of the Lord. But there are those who have received strength from the Lord to enable them to continue with you into the battle. Resting is necessary. Once rested, people can get back into the battle because they have been refreshed.

    The Apostle Paul encourages those who are weary in ministry: And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart (Galatians 6:8-9). He also encourages us not to give up:

    Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord (1 Corinthians 15:58).

    Are you weary in the work of the Lord? Take courage, after resting get back in the fight! God will give you His strength for the battle!

    My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever.
    ~Psalm 73:26~

  • Seeking the Lord's Direction — Thursday October 17, 2019
  • Strengthening Yourself in God — Wednesday October 16, 2019
  • Deep Anguish — Tuesday October 15, 2019
  • A Surprise Attack — Monday October 14, 2019
  • Rejection — Sunday October 13, 2019
  • Get Back On Track — Saturday October 12, 2019
  • Keeping on Course — Friday October 11, 2019
  • Two Very Different Camps — Thursday October 10, 2019
  • God Working Behind the Scenes — Wednesday October 9, 2019
  • A Lowered Position — Tuesday October 8, 2019
  • The Voice of God — Monday October 7, 2019
  • Facing a Tragic End — Sunday October 6, 2019
  • True Repentance — Saturday October 5, 2019
  • Predicted Disaster — Friday October 4, 2019
  • Deeply Distressed — Thursday October 3, 2019
  • Looking Beyond The Grave — Wednesday October 2, 2019
  • Seeking Direction — Tuesday October 1, 2019
  • Instability — Monday September 30, 2019
  • An Eerie Silence — Sunday September 29, 2019
  • Brokenness — Saturday September 28, 2019
  • Commissioned For War — Friday September 27, 2019
  • Never A Perfect Man — Thursday September 26, 2019
  • Covering Your Tracks — Wednesday September 25, 2019
  • Are You Backslidden? — Tuesday September 24, 2019
  • No Accountability — Monday September 23, 2019