Daily Devotional

  • Surrounded — Saturday August 17, 2019

    SATURDAY August 17, 2019

    Surrounded

    So they arose and went to Ziph before Saul. But David and his men were in the Wilderness of Maon, in the plain on the south of Jeshimon. When Saul and his men went to seek him, they told David. Therefore he went down to the rock, and stayed in the Wilderness of Maon. And when Saul heard that, he pursued David in the Wilderness of Maon. Then Saul went on one side of the mountain, and David and his men on the other side of the mountain. So David made haste to get away from Saul, for Saul and his men were encircling David and his men to take them.

    1 Samuel 23:24-26

    David moved his position and went towards the south to the plain of Jeshimon. Saul continued in hot pursuit. He remained on the heels of David. Saul was determined in his search for David. As the news of Saul’s pursuit reached David, he kept on the move.

    Finally, Saul closed in on David. Imagine, Saul was on one side of a mountain, and David and his men were on the other side––so near. Saul had his men encircle the mountain from both sides. Saul believed he had David trapped. There was nowhere else David and his men could hide. Saul was on the verge of capturing and killing David. David knew he was surrounded, but he trusted in the Lord. What would happen next?

    Understand, when the enemy is in hot pursuit of your life and he seems to have you trapped, God will always give to you a way of escape:

    No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it (1 Corinthians 10:13).

    God knows what trials and temptations you will face in this life. He promises to be with you.

    As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the LORD surrounds His people
    from this time forth and forever.

    ~Psalm 125:2~

  • Craftiness — Friday August 16, 2019
  • My Hiding Place — Thursday August 15, 2019
  • Confirmation of God's Call — Wednesday August 14, 2019
  • Hide in the Shadow of Your Wings — Tuesday August 13, 2019
  • Guide Our Steps — Monday August 12, 2019
  • Absolute Surrender — Sunday August 11, 2019
  • The Center of God's Will — Saturday August 10, 2019
  • Seeking Confirmation from God — Friday August 9, 2019
  • Inquiring of the Lord — Thursday August 8, 2019
  • A Safe Refuge — Wednesday August 7, 2019
  • Murder of the Innocent — Tuesday August 6, 2019
  • Obey God Rather Than Man — Monday August 5, 2019
  • Defending a Person's Character — Sunday August 4, 2019
  • False Accusations — Saturday August 3, 2019
  • The Man who Snitched — Friday August 2, 2019
  • Dealing with Paranoia — Thursday August 1, 2019
  • Manipulation of Mind Games — Wednesday July 31, 2019
  • Men of Stength — Tuesday July 30, 2019
  • A Brand New Work — Monday July 29, 2019
  • Taking Words to Heart — Sunday July 28, 2019
  • Conflict of Character — Saturday July 27, 2019
  • A Familiar Sword — Friday July 26, 2019
  • Under The Enemy's Watch — Thursday July 25, 2019
  • Blessed are the Flexible — Wednesday July 24, 2019
  • The Comfort of God — Tuesday July 23, 2019