Daily Devotional

  • The Strengthening of Christ — Friday January 28, 2022

    FRIDAY January 28, 2022

    The Strengthening of Christ

     I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    Philippians 4:13

    Circle and memorize this verse in your Bible. Paul made an incredible declaration. He could not do anything in his own strength, but he could do all things through Christ’s strength. The verb strengthens means “Be strong or to have strength.” Paul had Christ’s strength to withstand all things––even when he faced his own death!

    Paul’s personal references at the close of his letter indicated that he was very much a victim of circumstances, but he also was a victor over them. Consider these three references Paul used: ...in all things... Philippians 4:12, I can do all things... Philippians 4:13, and I have all [things]... Philippians 4:18.

    Notice Paul’s philosophy of ministry, he could accept whatever life brought his way––everywhere and in all things––he had learned to be full and to be hungry, to abound and to suffer need. Paul had the ability to do all things through Christ’s strength. He had the strength of God to accomplish the work of God. Then, Paul after receiving aid for all he needed said, I have all things. Can you see the witness of Paul’s joy and contentment despite his trials?

    As believers, we all need spiritual strength. There will be times of temptation or when a person decides to come against you. When going through a season of burdensome trials, discouragement can set into your heart and mind. Hold on to the promise found in Nehemiah 8:10 ...the joy of the Lord is your strength.

    Also, pray that God would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man... (Ephesians 3:16).  Know that in this life, you will need to depend on Christ’s strength twenty-four-seven!

    A faithful God does not expect you to do what you cannot;
    He supplies the needed strength.?~Erwin W. Lutzer~

  • The Sufficiency of Christ — Thursday January 27, 2022
  • Contentment in Christ — Wednesday January 26, 2022
  • Bringing Thoughts into Captivity — Tuesday January 25, 2022
  • Wrestling with Worry — Monday January 24, 2022
  • The Antidote for Anxiety — Sunday January 23, 2022
  • Rejoice in the Lord — Saturday January 22, 2022
  • Women in the Church — Friday January 21, 2022
  • My Joy and Crown — Thursday January 20, 2022
  • Heavenly Citizenship — Wednesday January 19, 2022
  • Following a Christ-like Pattern — Tuesday January 18, 2022
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day — Monday January 17, 2022
  • Be Mature in Christ — Sunday January 16, 2022
  • Are You Pressing Forward? — Saturday January 15, 2022
  • Christ Our Righteousness — Friday January 14, 2022
  • The Excellence Knowledge of Christ — Thursday January 13, 2022
  • Can You Count All Things Loss for Christ? — Wednesday January 12, 2022
  • Confidence in Christ — Tuesday January 11, 2022
  • Beware of Evil Workers — Monday January 10, 2022
  • Testing by Fire — Sunday January 9, 2022
  • Rejoice in the Lord — Saturday January 8, 2022
  • Esteem Godly Men — Friday January 7, 2022
  • Encouragement for Sorrow — Thursday January 6, 2022
  • Fellow Workers — Wednesday January 5, 2022
  • A Proven Character — Tuesday January 4, 2022
  • Rejoice with Me! — Monday January 3, 2022